Home Cricket Yuvraj makes a comeback: Virat Kohli to lead India against England

Yuvraj makes a comeback: Virat Kohli to lead India against England

Yuvraj Singh ODI
Yuvraj Singh played his ODI In December 2011 vs South Africa which in fact was a wash-out. Pic Credit: ICC

As the new era in limited overs cricket beckons under Virat Kohli, the selectors have recalled Yuvraj Singh back to the fold. The ODI series begins on 15 January 2017 in Pune followed by Cuttack and Kolkata.


The two teams will then play a 3-match T20I series. India’s series against England is their last 50-over assignment before they defend the cup during Champions Trophy in England in June 2017.


Mohammad Shami who is still injured doesn’t find a place in the squad. The seamer had played a couple of Tests against England late last year before picking up an injury.


India’s regular limited overs opener Rohit Sharma also hasn’t recovered yet. The selectors have kept Manish Pandey in the squad and Kedar Jadhav who had played a couple of good cameos against New Zealand last year.


After being rested for New Zealand series, Ashwin and Jadeja are back in the ODI as well as T20I squads. Suresh Raina hasn’t found a place in the 50-over squad but is a part of the T20I side.


The selectors have rewarded youngster Rishabh Pant for his performances by selecting him in the T20 side along with Yuzvendra Chahal. Veteran left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra is also back in the squad as his performance in the shortest format was impressive in 2016.


ODI Squad:

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav


T20I squad:

KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra