Home Cricket Bailey, Finch dropped; Lynn selected in ODI squad for Pakistan series

Bailey, Finch dropped; Lynn selected in ODI squad for Pakistan series

Australia ODI Travis Head
Australia will play 5 ODIs against Pakistan. Pic Credit: ICC

George Bailey and Aaron Finch have been dropped by Australian selectors and have selected uncapped fast bowler Billy Stanlake and batsman Chris Lynn for the five match ODI series against Pakistan which starts on 13 January 2017.


Aaron Finch hasn’t been in form off late averaging just 7.33 in the Chappell-Hadlee ODI tournament, Australia’s last series in 2016. Bailey’s sacking seems a bit harsh considering that he has been Australia’s leading ODI run-scorer with 2603 at 40.67 in the last four years.


Coach Lehmann spoke about Bailey’s exclusion, “Tough call on George as well. He’s a ripper bloke, he’s fantastic around the group and he’s been fantastic as a leader as well. Again, it’s down to performances from George. He’s got to go back and make big runs. The door is not shut on any of those players by the way when you’re looking at this form of the game with Champions Trophy coming up. George has got to perform well and really put his case forward.”


Both Finch and Bailey would look to knock on the selectors’ doors by performing well in the on-going Big Bash League. Lynn has been the star of the T20 tournament so-far having played some awe-inspiring innings already.


Lynn who plays for Brisbane Heat in the BBL has missed quite a lot of cricket in the last 2-3 years due to injuries. The selectors haven’t announced any opener to replace Finch which means Khawaja is likely to do the honours.


The tall and lanky Billy Stanlake has also had a couple of good BBL games this season. His tall stature is sure will probably help him extract more bounce than any of his teammates.



Steven Smith (capt), David Warner, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa